

Australian Capital Territory public schools

Jurisdiction-specific comments

- The ACT is the only jurisdiction in Australia to provide Early Childhood Schools which commenced during 2009 and one of the few jurisdictions to provide separate year 11 and 12 colleges.
- Public schooling financial data is compliant with ACARA's agreed methodology and only includes income for students from kindergarten and above.
- ACT public schools do not charge fees except for international students. Students are requested to make voluntary contributions.
- In 2023, there were six Introductory English Centres (IEC) in the ACT, at Dickson College, Charnwood Dunlop School, Hughes Primary School, North Ainslie Primary School, Wanniassa Hills Primary School, and Throsby School. These schools received income to provide English as a Secondary Language services to enrolments from other ACT public schools.
- ACT public schools are not permitted to enter into contracts to borrow money.